Transmission kicking the bucket?

matttdi

TDI
2004 Jetta
99 Automatic 186k miles

Hello again,
(Already posted this in MK4 with no responses)

Today while driving home from work I had a weird occurrence when taking off from a stoplight. I was not flooring it or anything, but the car acted as if the clutch was slipping and then all of a sudden grabbed after just a moment, and even chirped the tires. It did it again after, and I can make it not do it by taking off more slowly than I normally do, but was unsure of the issue. No codes (other than emission of course) so I’m kinda stumped. If it was a manual I would compare the feeling to clutch dumping but since it’s an automatic I’m not sure where to start. Any advice would be welcome. Thanks!

AndyBees

Top Post Dawg
TDI
Silver 2003 Jetta TDI, Silver 2000 Jetta TDI (sold), '84 Vanagon with '02 ALH engine
I have zero experience with the auto transmissions in the MK4s.

That said, has the fluid ever been changed? The solenoids may be sticking and then suddenly releasing.
Hopefully, those with experience will chime in.

matttdi

TDI
2004 Jetta
I have zero experience with the auto transmissions in the MK4s.

That said, has the fluid ever been changed? The solenoids may be sticking and then suddenly releasing.
Hopefully, those with experience will chime in.
Supposedly PO did, also said he took the pan off the bottom and saw no shavings or anything, just taking his word for it. Fluid swap might be a good spot for me to start at least, thanks for your reply.

csstevej

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2001 golf tdi 4 door auto now a manual, mine, 2000 golf 2 door M/T son's,daughters 98 NB non-TDI 2.0, 2003 TDI NB for next daughter, head repaired and on road,gluten for punishment got another tdi 2001NB,another yellow tdi NB
Have you checked to see if it’s serviced correctly?
If your low on fluid it will cause issues.
There is a special way to see if serviced correctly.