Sad Day

Yblocker

Veteran Member
TDI
1997 Passat
Car was hit while parked. Hit and run that is. Insert very sad face here.
The fender, rear view mirror, the door and pillar are damaged. Hood is fine.
I carry liability insurance only so the repair if any, would be on me.
How would you guys proceed? Other than wrecking yards where do people source body parts?

I'm a fair mechanic, but I have very little body work experience. I've put a lot of work into this car, it's really sorted out well, so I hate to part it out, but it's tempting.

twentyeight

Veteran Member
TDI
1Z & ALH
That's really rough, but at least it wasn't the rear quarter.

It looks like a nice car, and if so you can probably just replace the fender and mirror and have a body shop paint it. If you do most of the prep yourself it won't be too expensive. Was there any potential camera on the area? I got hit in a parking lot a long time ago with PLPD and there was some clause that insurance would cover hit-and-runs. I didn't handle the details, though, so I'm not much help there.

I might have a good fender in the garage, though it's LC6P green. One was had some rust so I'll check and get back to you.

Tdijarhead

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2003 TDI Jetta Daughters Car, 2001 TDI Beetle, Wife’s car, 2005 Golf TDI Mine, all 5 spds
Check with your insurance, hit and run is treated differently in different states.

Yblocker

Veteran Member
TDI
1997 Passat
I'm pretty confident I could R&R the fender and and least the mirror if not the entire door since it's damaged too. It's the ding in the windshield pillar that I don't think I can do much about.

ToddA1

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'96 B4V, '97 B4 (sold), '97 Jetta (scrapped)
Sucks, but post a wtb for the parts, in the same diamond metallic black color.

When I bought my last B4, I was able to find a hood, and 2 complete doors from a local seller for $100. The fender was shipped from CT for $100. All in the same metallic black.

These parts are easily swappable.