Over cooling Issue

zolorin

TDI
2000 Jetta TDI
Hello all, this is my first time asking a question on this forum, so don't be too rough on me. I had been reading whole bunch of this forum for many problems in the past but now I am dumbfounded.

Ok, I have bought a 2000 VW Jetta TDI with 5 speed about a year ago. The PO have told me that he have installed a new clutch from the VR6, had replaced a turbo (gave me an old one) and told me that he can't keep his car because it was in a wreck and his insurance would not insure it with a salvage title. Price was right, I bought the car replaced the bumped, fender and a headlight and finally started to enjoy the mpgs (up to 54 on the highway). Resolved the check engine light with the glow plugs/harness kit and the car was very happy. So over the x-mas brake, 20K miles later, I have replaced the timing belt, water pump, cam followers, vacuum and fuel hoses, the 200K deluxe kit from boraparts.com This is not my first time dealing with the TDI since I have helped a buddy to rebuild an engine 4 years ago. All went well, all hoses, belts, accessories, and skin on my hands had been replaced. I have decided to change the thermostat as well -- just hate to have my investment to go up in smoke over a 20$ part. (which is an outrage since I am used to thermostat being $5). Anyway the TDI thermostat from wheler (spelling is off) did not fit and the PO had the single action thermostat from the 2.0L installed. So I have replaced with the identical looking one.

So initially everything looked fine however on the long drive to work a month later my car started to over cool (as the gauge would go below the 190 mark on the downhills). This is happening in south cal, no snow, just maybe a bit extra wind. So I was perplexed. A week later the over cooling issue exacerbated that my water temp rising to normal operation range went down to fully cold (fully left) and stayed there. Once I pulled over I touched the hoses and they were bone cold.