ever get caught with/checked for off-road diesel?

Status
Not open for further replies.

EmeraldTDI

Veteran Member
TDI
previous: 1997 Jetta (green); 2000 Golf TDI (Silver)
I've been driving my A3 for over 2 years now, and have never been checked. I don't use the stuff, but I'm just wondering if anyone has any stories of being checked for or (heaven forbid) caught with off-road diesel?

Please note I'm not concerned in this thread with whether it's good for my car or not; I'm just curious about the extent of enforcement of preventing road car drivers from avoiding taxes by buying non-taxed off-road stuff - in other words, my odds of getting away with using the off-road non-taxed stuff are poor/fair/good....?...!

PDJetta

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'04 Jetta GLS TDI Pumpe Duce Platinum Grey w/ Leather
NEVER checked in 15 years of driving VW diesels. I also do not use untaxed fuel.

--Nate

kanester

TDI
jetta wagon 2003 blue
unless you drive a commercial vehicle i would'nt worry about getting stopped. Some states may look under the hood during a state inspection and see the color of your fuel running through the clear fuel lines right ontop of the engine though!!

pruzink

Veteran Member
TDI
GLS, 2004, silver
Have read about people that live in farming areas getting checked. I guess farms typically have storage tanks for off-road diesel (dyed) for farm equipment. Alot of farmers also have diesel trucks so I have read where they do occasionaly been checked. Never heard of it happening for passenger vehicles anywhere else though.

kanester

TDI
jetta wagon 2003 blue
also i'll bet your fuel filter is a semi permanent record of your fuel usage so if you used a tank of red 3or 4 tanks ago but have been using clear since then if you cut open the filter you'll see red dye.

tkindler

Veteran Member
TDI
Jetta GL, 2003, white