Why our rods bend.

dvst8r

Veteran Member
TDI
'03 Wagon
Now I am not an engineer, nor did I write this. That compliment goes to nwpadmax from www.dieselplace.com

he wrote:
nwpadmax said:
"...Powder metal (PM) rods are fine for stock applications. Most people think that the powder process (and potential porosity) is the problem, but usually it isn't.

Dmax rods are pressed into a "green" compact and then hot forged. This densifies the compact and most of the time, it's 100% dense. If you cut it up, you may find a pore, but you'll spend a lot of time looking. And depending on where it is, it may not affect the part strength at all.

However, where the problem really lies is the requirements of fracture splitting.

For the big picture view, the vast majority of current auto con rods are fracture split. This saves a ton of machining and can reduce the cost of the rod by 30% or more (and is made much more quickly). The powder metal associations work very hard to push the technology further, and their industy consortiums will push until all rods are powder metal. It makes total sense for stock applications. Fracture splitting saves cost and makes a great joint. So what's not to like?

What's not to like is the alloy.

There was a big fight some time back between the powder rod people and the steel rod people. Steel companies want to sell forged metal rods, but they couldn't be competive against PM (because of later having to machine the cap surfaces). So they went and worked out an alloy that would fracture split like a PM rod. It came very close, but to make a long story short, it failed because of cost. Ingot metallurgy went to war with PM and got its butt handed to it because of cost.