Super Rough Cold Starting

Kmadras

TDI
2000 VW Golf
Hello this is my first time posting on this forum since about 2008. I'm the original owner of a 2000 VW Golf TDI ALH with 290k; he even has a name, Dieter. I've always taken excellent care of Dieter his whole life - he's probably only had about 5-6 mechanics work on him in his lifetime. For about the last year Dieter's been experiencing a really hard "cold" starting up in the AM, even at 40° unless I plug in my block heater. It is really bad sometimes when I start him up after being at work in the late afternoon/evening too.
So, in the last month I had a lot of work done to try to alleviate this. So far nothing is working and I've spent a lot of $$ w/o a good result - yet.
I have to say that this has been a great car, I've had Dieter 21 years now and we still get great mileage averaging about 42 city/46 hwy. The mechanic who works on Dieter says that he drives beautifully, except for the super hard start thing.
I think the issue is the engine temperature sensor > communicating with the glow plugs. I've had the temperature sensor & relay wires replaced, and a used but well-functioning ECM was installed. The glow plugs all test out just fine.
At the suggestion of my mechanic, last week I took Dieter to the local VW dealership to have the "new"used ECM coded. ( For reference, the ECM was from the exact same year/model as Dieter. ) This is what was noted on the paperwork when I got Dieter back:
"check engine light was on, 1 code p0380 glow plug A. they programmed the ECM to Value to note check engine light remains on the fault p0380 would not erase."