Engine Detail - How To

Hyates

Veteran Member
TDI
SOLD
I've had several PM's about how to do an engine detail from from another post on these forums. Not meaning to keep this a secret, but I just didn't think many would be interested. I am not a professional detailer, just a hobbyist (Ok, a Type-A hobbyist!). This is what works for me, and if anyone can benefit from what I do, then it's a good day. Feel free to adjust as required, and YMMV

=================
Yup, I detail the engine thoroughly once a year.. typically in April when the weather clears. Then it's just regular maintenance as required.

I just use a 1" wide genuine bristle paintbrush, a bucket of water with soap. Nothing fancy. If there's any tough spots, I use Castrol Super Clean or Simple Green (diluted 50% with water).

Just use a light spray, like a mist from your hose nozzle. Keep water away from the air intake and alternator, and wire clusters. The components are meant to take a fair amount of water, but NOT under high pressure, so that's why I like to use light spray/mist. I remove the plastic engine cover underneath the engine prior to doing this. It's also a good time to wash that down as well.

I remove the battery, the battery enclosure, and battery tray. I use the hose on mist, and wet down the engine compartment, then use an old chamois to wash down the larger components with the soapy water, then use the paintbrush with soapy water to get all the detail areas under and over hoses/wires, and other difficult places. When I'm happy, I just rinse off with a soft spray from the hose. Oh yeah, I remove the engine cover on top of the motor as well.