96 Passat TDI wagon $4500 OBO in Shelton CT

dieseljunkie

Veteran Member
TDI
96 Passat TDI wagon
Bought Sept 09 from a couple in MA. It was my first TDI. My intent was to fix it up with the help of TDI club and convert it to run on WVO. I have been running WVO successfully since 2005 with over 250k miles total on 3 different IDI diesels (Peugeot, Mercedes and a VW Jetta IDI) with no engine related WVO problems, pretty good track record? I've been working on the 96 Passat over the last 3 years but have finally decided against converting it to WVO because of the more complex TDI engine that may not be as suitable for WVO as the IDI's and thus the reason I am selling it. I think many here will agree that is a good decision.

Since owning the Passat, I have driven a total of about 5k miles. Why so little? I have 3 other cars registered, 2 of them run on WVO and I drive them because the fuel is almost free! So the Passat got driven very little, and never on WVO. It currently has under 160K on the ODO.

My plan was to get it into good shape mechanically and cosmetically. Most of the work done has been just about all mechanical.

The good:

-Working AC- blows cold, I replaced the leaky condenser with a new one and evacuated and recharged with 134A.
-Engine starts easily and runs with lot's of pep
-new Bosch injector nozzles (from idparts) 3k miles ago
-There are no leaks of any kind
-New Continental timing belt and tensioner 5k miles ago. Timing set exactly in the middle of the graph with VCDS ,per spec.
-New Bilstein TC rear shocks 5k miles ago
-New serpentine belt 5K miles ago
-New group 49 battery one year ago
-New N75 5k miles ago
-New glow plugs 5k miles ago
-New G12 pink coolant 5k miles ago
-New power steering fluid 5k miles ago (comes in a green can) CH11?
-New Redline MTL fluid in tranny 5k miles ago

-Wireless remote door lock system added (banjo FOB). All door locks work.
-All power windows go up and down

-4 new Michelin 19570R14 X-radials 5k miles ago