Toyota Tacoma ALH Swaparoo!!

jimbote

Certified Volkswagen Nut
TDI
Tacoma 4x4 converted to TDI
This is my first attempted TDI conversion although I've been cerebralizing on it for several years...I've had several toyota trucks that I was "going to convert" but none felt right for the swap...so here it is, a 96' tacoma X-Cab 4x4 I found on craig's list greensboro...it was "dinged" in the front so I went ahead and had it converted to the 01' to 04' front end while it was in repair ....truck is a 3rz 4 banger with a W59 5 speed...I've already gone through one adapter idea using a rear facing VW tdi starter...but that proved to be too much interference with the transmission case.. (anyone know of a larger diameter 4 cylinder VW flywheel?) my current adapter scheme uses an ACME "clone" adapter plate and a redrilled toy flywheel ....(thanks Luke for pointing out my omission) ...more pics to come in a few days!!

Last edited:

jimbote

Certified Volkswagen Nut
TDI
on my adaptation I'm using a 3RZ starter with the "cold climate" option...this starter has a 2.0kw output same as the late tdi starters....bendix is the same tooth count as the 22re, fits in the 22re separator plate hole perfectly and it has a mount configuration that allows the starter motor to rotate out of the way of the turbo with one tab lining up perfectly with the lower 22r starter bolt hole...My friend Daniel added a tab to the bell housing for the other starter mount to bolt to...here's a video of the starter in action ...:) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hjSKiykdHrI

pic of the tab on the w series trans

pic of original 22r starter on w series bell

3RZ starter mounted to R series trans...notice "clocking" that keeps the starter away from the turbo

Last edited:

jimbote

Certified Volkswagen Nut
TDI
here's the harness before and after....still need to do some trimming and tying in...building basically a standalone harness that will tie into the tacoma harness at critical points