$1 antishudder valve arm fix

yumanord

Veteran Member
TDI
1999 Jetta A4 TDI
Broke my antishudder valve arm a 3 years ago. The epoxy I fixed it with broke after a couple of years. Using a section of 3/8" water hose, two hose clamps and a 3" deck screw, it has been working great for over 6 months.

bailey1

TDI
2000 GLS Silver
That is hillarious. I'm sure its functional, but as an engineer I find that to be rather repulsive looking. Please please find a more elegant looking solution! I'm sure I'm going to have nightmares about dealer repair work again tonight.

whitedog

Veteran Member
TDI
2004 Jetta that I fill by myself
If you ever get to Central Oregon, and need a job, my Dad would be glad to hire you. :D

yumanord

Veteran Member
TDI
1999 Jetta A4 TDI
What was I thinking! Why its a VW and even though nobody will ever see the part I should have machined it and had it gold plated. It beats the tie down that the mechanic put on it or the $200 VW wanted for the item.

wny_pat

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2002 Jetta TDI
bailey1 said:
but as an engineer I find that to be rather repulsive looking.
There are a few engineering items on some big rigs that I would like to show some engineers who designed them. I've seen broken frames because they failed to call for fish tail welds and the like. Engineers should be looking for good design and not good looks.

LNXGUY

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'05 Jetta TDI Wagon
I had the same prob when I cleaned my EGR for the first time, snapped the arm right in half, lol.. All I did was get some aluminum siding, cut a strip the length of the arm and double the width, fold it over and pop-rivet both ends..

Its been working great :)

frugality

Top Post Dawg
TDI
none, 2016 GTI
Or the oldie song:

"If you wanna be happy for the rest of your life,
never make a pretty woman your wife.
So from my personal point of view,
get an ugly girl to marry you...."
:D

Matthew_S

Veteran Member
TDI
2002 Jetta GLS galactic blue