Where you guys buying parts?

norbert77

Veteran Member
TDI
01 beetle
I need a clutch and a timing belt, do you guys have a good Ontario guy,or buy from ID parts?

J_dude

Veteran Member
TDI
2003 1.9l “Jedi”
I use Roseland Tech mostly, not sure if they have clutches though. There’s also GermanOEM and Concept1, I have no experience with those though.

J_dude

Veteran Member
TDI
2003 1.9l “Jedi”
Oh wait, just realized you said ONTARIO. Well then I’m no help.

P2B

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2002 Jetta, 2003 Jetta, 2003 Jetta Wagon
I buy most of my parts online from Germanoem. Their ALH timing belt kit is comparable to ID Parts.

If I need something in a hurry I call Perjad at Precision Tuning and pick up in person.

norbert77

Veteran Member
TDI
01 beetle
anybody near London, Chatham or Sarnia have a timing belt tool kit i can rent?

Will a 1.9 PD tool kit work?

Last edited:

P2B

Top Post Dawg
TDI
PD tools won't work for ALH.

The club has an ALH kit, free to use, but a deposit is required and it's in Toronto.

J_dude

Veteran Member
TDI
2003 1.9l “Jedi”
Or if you’re a handy fellow, make em. Cam lock plate is easy, 3/16 plate, just have to grind the part that goes in the cam slot a bit thinner. Drill bit of appropriate size to pin the pump etc.

Zak99b5

Veteran Member
TDI
2003 Jetta TDI
I’ve used a drill bit to pin the pump before, but now I’m afraid that’s too brittle and might snap in a bad way. The pump doesnt want to stay in the pinned position, and there’s a decent torque on the pin.

J_dude

Veteran Member
TDI
2003 1.9l “Jedi”
I’ve used a drill bit to pin the pump before, but now I’m afraid that’s too brittle and might snap in a bad way. The pump doesnt want to stay in the pinned position, and there’s a decent torque on the pin.
Yeah that’s a good point. When I did mine I used a stubby Phillips screwdriver, the shank happened to be just the right diameter.