What tool do I need to compress the rear brake caliper?

spooality

TDI
2012 Jetta Sportwagen TDI, 6MT
I'll be replacing the rotors and pads on my 2012 Sportwagen soon, just getting all of the parts orders. I'm think I'm going with Power Stop's Euro-Stop kit, unless somebody tells me that there's a much better option out there for the same price. I know that I just need a normal brake caliper tool to compress the front piston, but for the rear calipers I need a tool that will rotate it too, right? What exactly am I looking for? Also, this is my first time replacing the brakes on ANY car, so any tips to help it go smooth. Thanks!

oilhammer

Certified Volkswagen Nut & Vendor
TDI
There are just too many to list....
First, I'd check the price from the dealer for OEM parts, you may find them not that expensive, especially the pads. Otherwise, I like Textar pads and rotors on those.

The rears require a wind in tool, most of the kits have several adapters, and one of them will work. It is actually a pretty common one. These are normal RH threads on both rear calipers (some cars have a left hand thread on one side, which require a second left hand winder tool, but these don't).

I would also flush the brake fluid (these use DOT 4 LV (low viscosity) ). A scan tool will allow you to run the ABS to help purge the old fluid from the module, too.

You also will need an XZN bit for the rear caliper carriages, and those bolts can be very tight!

roadlust

Veteran Member
TDI
2003 golf gl reflex silver (sold) 2013 TDI 2 door Golf Blue Graphite Metallic 6MT Premium Package.
Many parts stores loan the brake tool. I think they require a deposit so you will return it.

PRY4SNO

Veteran Member
TDI
2013 Touareg Execline
I concur with both comments above.

In a pinch -- and I don't recommend it -- I've used a set of water pump pliers held firmly against the notches in the caliper and just pressed in while rotating inwards clockwise.