water pump timing belt problems

kb1968

TDI
2005.5 Passat auto
So saw coolant leaking from the normal spot a water pump would leak (under the front of the vehicle directly inline with where the water pump is) Bought the kit from dieselgeek with the metalnrd tools. Started this morning put the lock carrier in the service position removed the belts and got to removing the 6 mil allens holding the pulley to the crank sprocket. And thats where the problems began only one of the bolts will come out and the other three are so worn the F out from where someone else had removed them and not replaced them before so now i have 3 completely stripped out bolts left and I cannot get them out with everything Ive tried...ez out screw out, taps, damaged bolt removers and they are too close to the center 19 mil stretch bolt to get a good enough grip on with vise grips or anything like that. Ultimately my question would be if i remove that 19 mil bolt what happens? I am a diesel mechanic by trade but this little thing has given my a ton of problems but I love it too much to let it go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

dogdots

Vendor
TDI
None
Just pound a 12mm 12 point socket on the ones that are stuck and use an impact gun and they will zap right out. Worst case weld a nut on the end of them and zap them out that way.

No need to waste a crank bolt to get the pulley bolts out.

kb1968

TDI
2005.5 Passat auto
Epoxy maybe?

Would it be feasible to throw some epoxy on the end of the Allen bit and jam it into the tenants of the hole?

Vince Waldon

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2001 ALH Jetta, 2003 ALH Wagon, 2005 BEW Wagon
Nope, epoxy won't be strong enough under compression.

"Pounding in a 12mm socket" is actually good advice, or you could invest in a set of sockets designed for exactly this problem... they have reverse grooves that grab the hex-head and bind as you spin it out.

Or is that what you mean by having already tried a "damaged bolt remover"?