Using oil, not sure why. replaced clogged particulate filter... Also filter "delete"?

Brynildsen

TDI
2011 Golf TDI
Hi all,

I am pretty new to TDIs (owned my beloved 2011 6 spd Golf TDI since 39k miles, now have 96k.

I don't have a solid handle on how much oil it's consuming but am beginning to keep track. I had to have the particulate filter replaced in Sept. Dealer told me to sell the car. It was covered under warranty but that ran out about a month later. He said that they see cars coming in over and over every several months with a clogged particulate filter.

A friend mentioned that these motors are notorious for oil 'blowing by' valves. Since I don't see an oily mess in the engine compartment and nothing dripping out the bottom, I wonder if it isn't this blow by issue.

Further, I wonder how fast one might expect such a problem to increase, or whether it might stay steady.

Dealer service rep also mentioned the particulate filter deletion trick. I'm in NJ and thanks to Trump I think it was, they no longer do the wand emissions check. I'm not sure I'm comfortable with that route but wouldn't mind learning more about it, all the same.

FUN FACT: Some jack ass filled me up with gasoline once. I drove maybe 3/4 mile and turned it off once I realized something was wrong. Required an entirely new fuel delivery system.

If you're still reading, thank you and thanks in advance for any insights.

Lightflyer1

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2015 Beetle tdi dsg
First your dealer is a schmuck. Find another if you can. Second you may still have warranty. Check here.

Generally if you aren't short tripping them where the regens can't complete, they do okay. Lots of reading here to know about these cars.

Brynildsen

TDI
2011 Golf TDI