Trunk opens on its own!

Sepehr

TDI
2006 jetta tdi gls
I am new to this and I looked but I could not find anyone with the same problem. I have a 2006 Jetta TDI I hope I am in the right section (sorry if I am not)

Yesterday I went to my car and unlocked the drivers door with the fob, and the door unlocked along with the trunk so i just closed the trunk no big deal. I thought I might have accidentally hit the unlock and the trunk open button so I did not think much of it. I went back a few hours later unlocked the drivers door again and made sure I pressed the correct button, and the trunk also opened again. Confused I just closed the trunk and it opened itself again right after :S lol. Even more confused I closed it again and the trunk decided it was not finished so it opened AGAIN. Finally it stayed closed and I was able to drive away with a closed trunk. After having dinner with a friend I came back to the car unlocked the driver door and again the trunk opened so I closed it 2-3 times without it staying closed (it closes but opens itself up as if unlocking it from the fob or the trunk release). I decided to start the car and then try and close it and it worked until I started to drive away lol it opened while I was in motion. closed it again and it stayed closed. And even today it is doing the same thing.

I tried switching fobs, I tried locking the trunk release from inside the car. it still opens when I unlock the door.

Any ideas?
Thanks

sptsailing

Veteran Member
TDI
2006 Jetta Manual, stock with Panzer Plate & Franko6 modified EGR cooler & CAM