timing belt

Rockwell

Veteran Member
TDI
2003 Jetta TDI (R.I.P.), 1.6TD Toyota pickup, 2011 BMW 335d, 1996 Passat TDI
New guy here. I just got a 2003 TDI (5-speed) after wanting one for years. It has 164,000 miles and I dont have any history on it. It runs great and drives suprisingly tight for the mileage. I am not sure when the timing belt was done, I peeked at it under the upper timing belt cover and at least its not the original belt but I think I should change it just to know where I stand. Is this a 1 day job with the correct tools? I dont know much about Jettas but I am an aircraft mechanic so it should be within my capabilities unless there are any secrets I dont know about.

This thing is a blast to drive, cant wait to start playing around with it. I am putting the finishing touches on an '86 Toyota Pickup (2wd) that I swapped a VW 1.6TD into. It sounds like a little F350, lol.

Powder Hound

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'00 Golf 4dr White 5sp, '02 Jettachero 5sp, Wife's '03 NB Platinum Gray auto(!)
Rockwell said:
... Is this a 1 day job with the correct tools?
Yes, even for me and I'm really really slow.
I dont know much about Jettas but I am an aircraft mechanic so it should be within my capabilities unless there are any secrets I dont know about...
All the secrets are contained in a downloadable pdf on this forum.

supton

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'04 Jetta Wagon GLS
As PH said, the pdf is around here. Make sure to get the one for the ALH, not the PD; make sure to get the tools too. Lastly, since it's an '03, you do need VCDS (VAG-COM) to make sure the timing is right.

n8ronJ

Veteran Member
TDI
2014 BMW 328d XDrive, 2003 Jetta GLS TDI 5speed Platinum Grey (sold), 2010 Jetta 6speed (bought back)