sucker of the year award AND VW EGR filter (cjaa cbea) 4 sale

JELLOWSUBMARINE

Veteran Member
TDI
2011 Jetta Sportwagen, 6M, red/tan, navi, pano, 83 5m diesel pickup, 82 p/u trailer,.04 5.5 TDI Passat wagon (gone), 80,81,82 diesel p/u (gone), 80,82 sportruck (gone), 59 passthru bus (long gone), 79&87 westy (gone), 57 baja bug (long gone), 73 914
O.K. how do I even word this? I can't believe I was taken like this. Here's the run down - after my disclaimer.

I was a mechanic by trade general and dealership (mostly gas) from 1983-2003. In 2003 a motorcycle injury took me out of wrenching. The diesel thing has been a fairly recent passion since about 2010 when I purchased an 83 rabbit pickup then the 2011 buy back. That said I love this forum as it fills my wrenching needs through book knowledge.

Welllll my foolish mistake....
Looking thru offerup and came across a cjaa DPF. for $220 brand new, VW part. Not to mention the guy was local. As I covered in above disclaimer 😣 I haven't had hands on much with wrenching diesel let alone cjaa (aside from non delete tune). Even though I have seen this picture a million times I wanted to do my due diligence. Before buying I thought I covered ALL the bases. I google searched "DPF cjaa" and believe it or not EVERY site I hit on this search (6 I think), confirm this through a DPF search with -this EGR filter- picture. A few were actually sellers here. Its not necessarily on them as I reread one site I previously looked up and it, "IMO" squeezed in "intermittent pipe". O.K. kind of rookie mistake but I claim it. I will say ID parts, although not having a picture, gave a fair market price of $1043 but NO picture. Cool, At his cost it seems like a fair deal to give him his asking price. looks like I need to buy for when I need it (and I will).

Question #1 Why so cheap? the bells went off.