Starter fault

Graysen

TDI
2015 Golf TDI
Good day all, first post but I have been browsing forum since I bought my 2015 golf TDI back in October.

Few times now I have had issues starting car, I will get click sound like the starter is throwing out the gear but not turning. Before I order a starter should I check anything?

I have photo of VCDS print out. Just trying to attach it

Mozambiquer

Vendor , w/Business number
TDI
2004 VW Touareg V10 TDI, 2012 Audi Q7 V6 TDI, 1998 VW Jetta TDI. 1982 VW Rabbit pickup, 2001 VW Jetta TDI, 2005 VW Passat wagon TDI X3, 2001 VW golf TDI, 1980 VW rabbit pickup,
Yes, this is the wrong section for the question, but probably can get one of the admins to move it for you.
So, from what you describe, it does start sometimes, but sometimes doesn't?
It does sound a lot like the starter failing, though I would make sure your battery cables are in good condition and the battery tests good.
Is your golf an automatic or manual?

Graysen

TDI
2015 Golf TDI
Car is manual. I tried starting it yesterd and it sounded like it arced, so i was thinking power cable. I pulled the power cable and inspected last night looks in good shape so it must be the starter?

oilhammer

Certified Volkswagen Nut & Vendor
TDI
There are just too many to list....
Since the car is a stick, if it is on level ground, put it in 3rd gear, release the parking brake, and see if you can push it forward a couple feet, just enough to make sure the engine is not locked up for whatever reason. If you cannot go forward, you can try the same thing in reverse, but it may be a bit harder.

Otherwise, get a socket/ratchet and try moving it manually from the front of the engine.

FYI, twice now I've had CRUA engines at the shop here that were hydrolocking overnight on their own coolant. Some breach inside the engine, not sure what it specifically is.

But here's another one that happened recently and no answer from the OP yet: