Questions Regarding Aftermarket Wheels

Scottie-GNZ

TDI
2015 Golf
Hi folks,

I am a newb, despite owning a '10 TDI 6-speed and currently a '13 Jetta Sportwagen DSG.

I am in the process of trading the Jetta for a 2015 Golf 6-speed. Wanted to get an SE mainly because I wanted to have the 17 wheels/tires, but having trouble finding one with the right color and not loaded down with options I don't want to pay for. I am considering purchasing an S and adding aftermarket 17" wheels/tires that are more attractive than the OEMs. I discussed this with the dealer and they said it would not void the warranty as long as the sizes were the same as OEM.

So, I have 2 questions:
- None of the wheel/tire stores, like Tire Rack, list anything for the 2015. Do you folks think wheels for a 2014 would be an issue? I know the wheelbase and front overhang has changed for 2015 but not sure if there is anything else that could present a problem. The wheel would either be 17x7.5 or 17x8 with 225/40-17s.

- Do you think there are any differences in shocks and springs between the S and SE, seeing that the SE has slightly larger wheels and tires? The dealer is clueless on this.

TIA

IndigoBlueWagon

TDIClub Enthusiast, Principal IDParts, Vendor , w/
TDI
'97 Passat, '99.5 Golf, '02 Jetta Wagon, '15 GSW
Correct tire size for the 17s would be 225/45, not 40. Only question about fitment would be offset. I'm not sure if it's different on the '15s from earlier cars.

Don't know if S and SE have different dampers or springs, they well may given varying equipment levels. But I don't think it'll have any effect on wheel/tire selection.

Scottie-GNZ

TDI
2015 Golf
Thanks for the reply. Meant to say 225/45. Dealer wants ~$2500 for a set of OEM 17s and Conti tires!

Asked about springs/shocks not for wheel/tire selection but to see if I am losing anything by going with the S.

cascade7997

Veteran Member
TDI
2005 Golf TDI sold, 2015 Golf SE TDI 6MT