Question

EKStoy

TDI
none
I'm new to vw diesels but I like the idea of swapping it into my 91 yota. I go a buddy that has one outta a 04 golf tht he got from his friend. It's not running but he has a full rebuild kit for it and said he'll ship it to me with everything for 800. Would this be a good engine to swap in or should I look for something older. Any input is welcome

AndyBees

Top Post Dawg
TDI
Silver 2003 Jetta TDI, Silver 2000 Jetta TDI (sold), '84 Vanagon with '02 ALH engine
An '04 TDI engine is the PD (Pumpe Duse). There are a few folks transplanting the PD engine. However, the ALH (99.5 to 03) is pretty popular as well as the pre-ALH engines.

If you go with the PD engine, you should make sure the "package" includes all the pieces parts..........ECU, wiring harness, etc.

Also, I would want to know why that engine needs to be rebuilt! That would be my number one concern!

EKStoy

TDI
none
He said the guy was running 20pounds of boost an blew it cause he wasn't running a standalone and stock internals.

LukeWilson

Veteran Member
TDI
Toyota 4x4 TDI, 2004 Allroad TDI
Just chipped those cars will run an easy 20 psi of boost, they get fairly close to 16-17 psi stock. Also standalone for diesels is very rare, very expensive and rarely ever needed. Stock internals are fine until you are putting out significantly more power, like almost double stock. Something sounds fishy here, as some of the PD engines have a history of "blowing" for other reasons.

AndyBees

Top Post Dawg
TDI
Silver 2003 Jetta TDI, Silver 2000 Jetta TDI (sold), '84 Vanagon with '02 ALH engine
Agree with the "Something sounds fishy here.............."

It will probably cost more to rebuild that engine than a "package" from a wreck or someone offering one for sale hear in the club would cost!