PD Glow Plug Part Numbers

zslnk

Veteran Member
TDI
E320 CDI, 3rd gen Cummins 2500, ALH Sedan
Hi,
I just replied to another threat with this info but realized it was in the A5 section...

I have a 2006 Jetta Wagon (A4 car, BEW engine, Canadian market) and have a failed glow plug. The original plug that was removed was an NGK Nxxxxx04, the dealer sold me an NGK Nxxxxx08 because they say they replaced the Nxxxxxx04 part. Nowhere do I see that an Nxxxxxx08 is appropriate for a BEW engine. I installed the new plug and the car starts and runs like it should, is this the correct part?
Thanks

turbocharged798

Veteran Member
TDI
99.5 black ALH Jetta;09 Gasser Jetta
Both of those P/Ns are BRM glow plugs. N10591609 is what was intended for the BEW. (same GP, just slightly shorter than the BRM units)

Whether they will work OK, I have no idea.

Alchemist

Veteran Member
TDI
'04 ALH Golf
I have been running a set of the N105 916 08 for almost three years now without problem. The N105 916 09 are quite a bit less expensive, but either one works.

Paul

zslnk

Veteran Member
TDI
Ok.
I don't think we can say that the nxxxxxx04 is a Brm plug as that's what the factory put into my late production bew. There is lots of conflicting information out there about this stuff.

I've owned this car since new and it hasn't been to the dealer for any glow plug work.

PDJetta

Top Post Dawg
TDI
'04 Jetta GLS TDI Pumpe Duce Platinum Grey w/ Leather
Hi,
I just replied to another threat with this info but realized it was in the A5 section...

I have a 2006 Jetta Wagon (A4 car, BEW engine, Canadian market) and have a failed glow plug. The original plug that was removed was an NGK Nxxxxx04, the dealer sold me an NGK Nxxxxx08 because they say they replaced the Nxxxxxx04 part. Nowhere do I see that an Nxxxxxx08 is appropriate for a BEW engine. I installed the new plug and the car starts and runs like it should, is this the correct part?
Thanks