New oilpan: OCI recovery strategy?

fitzski

Veteran Member
TDI
Uh... hmm... Well, none...
So I'd cracked my oilpan in mid-June (see here for more info). The crack was undiagnosed for a couple of days, and I ended up losing about 1 litre before taking action.

I was able to drain the remaining oil and patch the crack while waiting for replacement parts. I re-filled with the drained oil, which was Delvac 1 ESP (less than a week old, including the filter), plus another litre of leftover Elf Excellium DID to make up for what was lost. I've been driving with that setup for about 2000kms until I just changed the pan.

To swap pans, I drained the oil (Pela, and drain plug), dropped the pan, cleaned and prepped the new pan and crankcase, installed with OEM silicone sealant, let it cure for a couple of hours, and again re-filled the drained oil (captured in the Pela), topping up with the Elf as required. Didn't change the filter.

My plan now is to do a ~1000km flushing OCI (Pela from the top side, and the filter reservoir, plus any additional from the drain plug, install new Mann filter and Delvac 1 ESP), and then return to my regularly scheduled programming (UOA every 8k, OCI every 16k or per UOA results).

What do you think? What would you do? Is 1000kms more than necessary to flush the oil of any contaminants introduced by the silicone sealant or from cleaning of the crankcase and oilpan?

My two concerns are contaminants from cleaning (I was careful... but still, it's awkward), and also continuing to use the recycled oil from when the pan first cracked - not sure how it may have held up running at low capacity for a couple of hundred kms before catching the crack.

Thanks.

TooSlick

Top Post Dawg
TDI
Audi 100S