New member & TDI owner & just replaced my Valve Cover Gasket, questions..

MIDTDIER

TDI
Mk4 BEW 2005
Hello,

I am new to VW and TDI's
Traded an early 90s ford diesel truck for a 2005 Jetta Wagon automatic GLS BEW.
It has 151k miles, over 13k$ in maintenance in the past 6 years. In good condition.
Getting about 41 in town, 44-47 highway, estimating from a couple hundred miles.
Its very comfortable even so I've been told by a shop the control arm bushings and motor mounts are shot.

So, while flushing my trans fluid (fluid was black, possibly never changed before, I think it shifts fine?, sometimes high over 2.5k rpm, sometimes a gentle thump) and doing a tensioner and a belt at a Euro shop, they said my timing belt was good(done 70k miles ago) but I have a valve cover leak. But next appointment is over a month, for over 300$.

So I did it my self, couldn't find much formal guides online, besides that it should be torqued to 7ft lb.
The EGR valve was a tricky with the fact that it had to be turned to be removed.
Not sure if the timing belt cover had to be removed, I did remove it as I read it somewhere.

The doubts whether I did a good job:
1. Used a lot of break cleaner with a single rag that became very dirty.
2. Had foamy gunk from the underside of the engine cover get in the valves area. Tried cleaning it. Not sure if it all got out.
3. Was not sure where to apply the sealant or how much. It's a victor reinz product.
4. Wonder if you folks would mind giving your opinion about my camshaft even so didn't turn the engine to show more of it, as I wasn't sure how.

So wonder what's the worse case scenario about 1, 2 and 3.

I installed a malone stage 1 yesterday with dynamic egr and idle.
Got a scangauge in the mail.
And waiting to receive a new subframe because apparently mine is bent, before I can install the Atlas skid plate that I've had for a few days.
I tried 'inserting" photos in this thread but not sure how.
So here are links to them.