Mk6 Golf TDI (US market) DRLs

tzulu1987

TDI
2012 VW Mk6 Golf TDI
Does anyone here have a solid guide for using VCDS to code-out the DRL/“city lights” on a Mk6 Golf using RossTech VCDS?

I recently installed a European headlight switch and ran a trigger wire (pin 3 at the HL switch harness, pin 19 on CECM harness) and went through the long coding helper on VCDS to try to actively disable the “city lights” / DRLs. I’m not a fan of them sharing and illuminating the high-beam halogen assembly, as I constantly get other drivers mistakenly assuming my DRLs are my high beams on dark roads. I’m tired of getting retaliatory high-beams 😅

I am fairly new to TDI Club, and if I am asking something that’s been answered long ago then please feel free to drag me a bit once ya share the link to another thread. If anyone has any solid guidance on the long coding helper for a North American market (US) Golf Mk6 on how to kill the DRLs via VCDS I’d owe you a beer sometime, somewhere

DrGERTol

Veteran Member
TDI
2011 Golf Variant (JSW) 6MT
The City/Parking light is not the DRL. The City/Parking lamp is a small 5W halogen bulb (item 11):

The DRL is the low wattage filament in the the dual filament high beam bulb (14). Seems like Byte 24 of the CECM/BCM should help you here. --g

tzulu1987

TDI
2012 VW Mk6 Golf TDI
The City/Parking light is not the DRL. The City/Parking lamp is a small 5W halogen bulb (item 11):

The DRL is the low wattage filament in the the dual filament high beam bulb (14). Seems like Byte 24 of the CECM/BCM should help you here. --g
At least in my Golf the DRLs do run off of the little 5w bulb that pokes in through the side of the high beam halogen housing. When I’ve had the stock US market headlight switch and the lights programmed as I bought the car that little light was what illuminated as my DRLs, at least. At least I believe so

DrGERTol

Veteran Member
TDI