Just got my first TDI what recommendations would you have for things i should do for it.

RyoshiUtt

TDI
2013 Passat 2.0 SE TDI
I just bought my first TDI its a 2013 2.0 Passat SE, with 180k miles. I'm new to diesel engines in general this is my or my family's first time owning a diesel car. My question to all you TDI veterans what should I look for in my car. The car has a great service record it was a salesman's car and his company took very good care of it. I plan on using this as my daily driver plus a monthly trip totalling about 1100 miles.

danmin

Veteran Member
TDI
2014 Passat 2.0 TDI @ 180k
Budget a $1200 turbo from PerformanceTDI. The 1556 turbo. The stock one likes to blow pretty quickly. It’s a design flaw- not a wear problem necessarily.

Otherwise it’s a decent car. Mine is at 181k and I had to do some work on it. The turbo blew and I deleted the emissions junk before that. Also the DMF went out.

As far as any upgrades: A tune will wake the car up quite a bit. Also a Headunit will change the whole driving experience with Carplay and other creature comforts.

Tom in PT

Veteran Member
TDI
2005 Passat sedan - SOLD; 2013 Passat DSG; both purchased new
Service the fuel filter and transmission fluid/filter on schedule.
Put in LED headlights (LasFit see posts here on that). The stock headlights are horrible.
Install Kerma Tune - get better fuel economy and keep pesky emissions codes/faults at bay. This is the biggest Achilles heel for these cars, by far (but there are other bugaboos discussed ad nauseum on this forum).
Change your coolant to G12, G12+ or G12++.
Use VW 507.00 rated oil only.
When you do an oil change clean out the intercooler (pull hose at bottom and wipe up the accumulated goo and oil in the hose and bottom of intercooler. Also clean the sensor at the top of the intercooler.