Intro & Digi PD Powerbox question

tgiaTDI

Veteran Member
TDI
2006 Jetta TDI 5s
Hi all,

Noob here :)

I've been lurking around and reading alot these past cpl days and obviously learned a lot about TDIs in general given the godly amount of info that can be found here.

I'm taking posession of a new 2006 5sp Jetta TDI this week, which will be my first TDI. I've previously driven them but never owned one. Considering this will be my 6th car, I'm glad I finally made that step forward.

I've read a lot about performance upgrades on these engines, particularly about chips and powerboxes and I'm leaning towards a Digi PD powerbox in the very near future. I've noticed that there are two types of these, wired and wireless. If I understand right, the wired model is no longer available but what interests me and what I couldn't find any info on is the difference between the two. So, what is a wired module doing more (or less) than the wireless one and why is the wired one discontinued?

Also, I noticed that there are multiple performance settings that can be chosen from using a switch. Is that switch accessible from the cabin or can it only be operated on the module itself which is found in the engine compartment?

Thanks in advance for the info

LA@JSPerformance.ca

Vendor , w/Business number
To answer your first question, the differences between the boxes are below:

Wired PD DIGI Box - Produces more power and more smoke. This box is also a more involved installation. (we still have these boxes available). The added bonuses to this set up is that you can add the TPC unit and acheive more HP and TQ. See the link below to Nick's video:

http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread.php?t=166811

Wireless PD DIG - Produces less power than the wired version and less smoke. The installation is extremely easy.

Both boxes are fully adjustable, but to adjust the settings you have to do this at the box, and the box is located in the engine compartment.

Hope this helps.

bluesmoker