Intake cleaning at TDI Fest

PinionTwister

TDI
Jetta, 98, silver
I am hoping to clean the intake manifold on my '98 TDI Jetta at TDI Fest - under the watchful guidance of you experts. I have never done this before. Can someone advise me as to the following:
tools I should bring
parts I should acquire before getting there
Other items I should consider.

From everything I read and based on the way this poor car runs, it sorely needs a cleaning.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Dave G.

paramedick

TDIClub Enthusiast, Vendor
TDI
2015 Audi Q5 TDI
I'll be there, and can look over your shoulder. I'll have my tools, so no issue there.

http://pics2.tdiclub.com/gwillie/VW/Sballintake/INTAKEMAN101b.htm

Link above to give you an idea of what you need to clean it out. Car above is an A4, though.

Bring coveralls, or some other sacrificial clothing. It's a dirty, nasty job and the clothing WILL get stained. Ditto good handcleaner.

Bruce

compu_85

Gadget Guy
TDI
... None :S
[mooch] Will there be a kind soul there who would let me borrow his tools because I'm too cheap to go to Sears and get my own? [/mooch]

I would be super appreciative if you would keep an eye on me... keep things from escalating from a snafu to fubar LOL.

-J

PinionTwister

TDI
Jetta, 98, silver
Thanks for all the help. Do I need any gaskets or VW parts before I start? Or can I reuse the intake manifold gasket? just want to make sure I am ready to go.
I have 150,000+ miles on this car and have never cleaned the intake. Has run good until about 6 months ago. Not getting much use lately because of the sluggishness. I am sure the intake could be cleaned. MAF was replaced about 9 months ago so I don't think that is the problem but once we "get under the hood" I will take any and all advice. I don't mind the wrenching, just would like to have experienced eyes looking over my shoulder.
See you all in a couple of weeks.
Dave G.

TDI Owner/Operator
TDI
2015 Passat TDI SEL