Info from Valvoline in re 505.01

tntdifan

Veteran Member
TDI
2006 Jetta TDI
First off, let me introduce myself. I'm a newbie to the forums, but an oldie to TDI, having driven a '96 TDI Passat for 131k miles. Less than a week ago, I traded in my old reliable diesel and stepped into the brave new world of PD with a new Jetta, magic VW oil specs and all. (My Passat was delighted to live on Mobil Delvac 1300 dino truck oil from the local parts emporium. Then again, it was noisy, smelly, and didn't give me whiplash with a touch on the accelerator the way the Jetta can. :))

Anyway, I wanted to pass on the following interesting email I received from Valvoline in regard to my questioning their support of 505.01 for the US market. I realize people get passionate about this stuff; don't shoot me, I'm only the messenger ...

[begin quote]
Durablend Diesel is a European application only. This product is not for
sale in the states. The only oil that we have here in the states that is
suitable for the TDI applications or the recommended 505.01 Volkswagen
specification, is our Valvoline Maxlife Full Synthetic 5w30. No matter
the mileage, this is our only recommendation for the 505.01 spec and will
have to be used for warranty purposes.
[end quote]

[tntdifan again] I realize that Maxlife Full Syn 5w30 is not on the VW approved list. However, the list I saw was also almost a year old; maybe they've certified since then?

:confused: I think I'll probably end up mail-ordering Motul Spec, unless I can scare up a source for Quaker State Diesel Plus locally. But I thought Valvoline's response was interesting.

mparker326

Veteran Member
TDI
Golf 2002 Gray
Welcome aboard!

Why don't you fill out your profile and let us know where you are located? You never know who may be in your area and can point you in the right direction if you need something.