HOPA tuning pbox

Taggs

TDI
Jetta, 2001, Blue
I am interested in a HOPA tuning box. The box that I have found is for a Mk4 10 pin set up. I am new to TDI and am not sure what I have. My car is a 2001 Jetta TDI with a five speed. CAn Anyone tell me where to look for the info that I need? Thanks, Dave

holsteinNB

TDI
2009 Jetta Sedan, 2003 Jetta wagon 305K and going strong.
Hi and welcome,

I am a realitive newbie myself but I do have some experience with the Hopa power box for the TDI. I like the tuning boxes because the average person can install/remove it as they want. They can be had used for reasonable $$$ and the performance increase for the money spent isn't bad. Hard to do with a ECU and keep the car running unless you have a spare, of course this costs $$$$$$.

I got a Hopa TB used, it had three potentiometers or "pots" on it to adjust the performance level increase and a lead that needed to be spliced into the MAF harness. The directions were not the best for adjusting it and in the directions it was recommended that the adjusting be done on a dyno. Something I couldn't afford. So I started playing with it and doing searches here to find out what I could. There are a few threads and I will see if I can find them for you.

What I found out by playing was, once the unit was installed, the left most pot (closest to the injection pump) was the high speed trim pot (2000-3000 rpm) turn CW to increase the power, turn CCW to decrease. The center pot is idle adjust. While at idle turn CW until the motor stumbles and the idle gets rough then turn CCW until the motor doesn't stumble and the idle is smooth. And the last pot, the far right pot, is for power across the entire power band. Turn CW to increase power, turn CCW to decrease power. All of these adjustments have to be done while the car is warmed up.