HIgh cost of Malone tune

skromfols

Veteran Member
TDI
2017 Jaguar XE TDI, 2014 Sportwagen TDI
I have a 2014 Sportwagen TDI with a standard transmission and want to increase power for towing my motorcycles and ATV. I'm not a mechanic so I've been reading on this forum and other forums to find out what methods would be best for increasing the power and torque of my vehicle.

Malone seems to be popular and I've read some good reviews on it, so I called the Malone dealer closest to me (in Berkley). What he told me is that the Malone 2.0 would richen the fuel mixture too much for my engine and instead he would recommend the Malone 1.5 tune. He quoted me a price of $524 for the Malone 1.5, but then added $120 for shipping and $150 for labor and $8 tax, bringing the total to $802. He also mentioned that it was a 4 day job.

This really seems excessive to me, so I'm just wondering if this is the going rate or if he's going a bit overboard. Also, I'm looking for any alternative suggestions for tunes in the Northern California area. I'm not hooked on Malone so would consider other tested tunes.

Thanks for any suggestions.

Stan

NewTdi

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2003 Bora, Reflex Silver
What you could do is to contact Matt-98ahu and Frankencar and see what they would charge.

Ed's TDI

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2001 Bora and 2016 Touareg
The problem is that with the new TDIs the ECU has to be removed and to do the upgrade, where in older TDIs it could be done with a simple interface connected to the OBD port. Hence the extra costs involved. Another thing you might consider is seeing if there's a dealer within driving distance and maybe make a road trip out of it. Or even better, take a few days, drive up to Vancouver, BC, and get the Man himself to do your tune! ;)

skromfols

Veteran Member
TDI