Having a broken glow plug removed tomorrow....need advice!!

Ralphpowell

Veteran Member
TDI
Jetta, 2000,green
I am going tomorrow to have a broken glow plug removed tomorrow by a garage that works on foreign auto's, including VW.

I asked the guy if he has any experience removing broken glow plugs and he said no. But, claims he is good at removing broken bolts and spark plugs.

Is there anything in particular that I should be aware of? Any thing I should not allow him to do? I have no experience with removing broken plugs and I just want to make sure nothing catastrophic happens to my car. As always, thanks for the advice or tips.

oilhammer

Certified Volkswagen Nut & Vendor
TDI
There are just too many to list....
Why not let him take a look at it and see? Not really anything you could tell him that he probably doesn't already know. That sort of thing is a case-by-case basis. Sometimes you can get them out with some patience and an extractor, sometimes the head has to come off.

Redrocketdi

TDI
2013 VW Jetta Sportwagen
I'm sure you looked but I'd find a shop that has done that before. I'm assuming no warranty?

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

Mongler98

Top Post Dawg
TDI
98 Jetta TDI AHU 1.9L (944 TDI swap in progress) I moved so now i got nothing but an AHU in a garage on a pallet.
whatever you do, just pay with a MAJOR credit card, not a debit card from your bank. something you can dispute any charge on because its probably going to end in a battle over getting paid for a job that goes south.

TLH_TDI

Veteran Member
TDI
2002 Jetta Wagon
Unless you are ready to buy a new head, run it with the three good glow plugs that you have. Been there, done that, got the t-shirt, bought a new head. $800

Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

AndyBees

Top Post Dawg
TDI
Silver 2003 Jetta TDI, Silver 2000 Jetta TDI (sold), '84 Vanagon with '02 ALH engine
Warranty ....... payment with a credit card. Gees!