Front springs shot at 37,000 miles?????

BlueCTTDi

Veteran Member
TDI
2004 Golf GLS (PD) - Indigo Blue
OK, So I was having a rough day last week and I figured what better therapy than to drive around for a bit with the radio off and wind out the engine a bit and listen to the wonderful sound...

And it was great.. until I started going over a few bumps..

seems that BOTH front springs are creaking so badly it sounds like a brass band. It's really only been noticeable for the last week or so. I can replicate the noise even just going out and pushing down on each front corner. Call me an idiot maybe, but last I knew that was a sure sign that they're on the way out. rebound doesn't seem to be too bad (i.e. once down, once up - doesn't seem to indicate a shock issue), but I have to admit I'm not an expert on suspension components. The front end still seems pretty tight, alignment is still ok, and a quick look doesn't indicate anything broken.

I've made no modifications except for putting R32 wheels on the front end (direct bolt-on, no spacers), as well as installing a panzer plate, both of which occurred at about 33,000 miles back in late March. I can't imagine that these two items would alter things enough to wear out stock springs in the span of 4,000 miles.

I know that some folks have had early problems with the stock vw suspension, but at 37,000 miles??? :mad: I could understand if I drove the car that hard, but I'm actually pretty good with it.

This kind of noise normal on the mkiv's, or should I be concerned about the springs failing?

carnotgas

Veteran Member
TDI
2015 Jetta
Sway Bar Bushings

It is common for the sway bar bushings to make noise. VW replaced my sway bar and bushings under warranty and the noise went away.

BlueCTTDi

Veteran Member
TDI
the bushings creak like that? sounds like a whole lot of noise from 2 small parts.. lol

maybe i should think about moving the suspension higher on the upgrade list...

BlueCTTDi

Veteran Member
TDI