Coolant in oil, what’s going on?

KeyTDI

Veteran Member
TDI
2012 Sportwagon
2012 Jetta Sportwagon with 133k miles.
Did the timing belt, water pump etc at 130k and changed oil.
I sent a sample to blackstone labs and they flagged coolant in oil.
Wondered if I had contaminated the oil with coolant whilst doing the timing belt and water pump.
I had noticed a slight drop in coolant level before but had dismissed it as seasonal fluctuation, and assumed it would be solved when I did the big service and replaced coolant.
Now I just got another low coolant warning my Daughter says, who is borrowing the car.
What’s the deal here?
I read something about oil cooler o rings…. Or could it be a HG?
Any insight or knowledge would be appreciated!

DonL

Veteran Member
TDI
2005 Jetta TDI wagon (BEW)
I am not a mechanic, nor do I play one on tv. However, I have been around for a few years and first thought is head gasket.

KeyTDI

Veteran Member
TDI
2012 Sportwagon
Lol.
Yup, I did have that thought as well.
Wonder if it would be covered under the Dieselgate warranty. I bet the engine revisions caused it. 😉

JELLOWSUBMARINE

Veteran Member
TDI
2011 Jetta Sportwagen, 6M, red/tan, navi, pano, 83 5m diesel pickup, 82 p/u trailer,.04 5.5 TDI Passat wagon (gone), 80,81,82 diesel p/u (gone), 80,82 sportruck (gone), 59 passthru bus (long gone), 79&87 westy (gone), 57 baja bug (long gone), 73 914
Lol.
Yup, I did have that thought as well.
Wonder if it would be covered under the Dieselgate warranty. I bet the engine revisions caused it. 😉
Good point. The heat increase has been fairly well established I would say.

MrCypherr

Veteran Member
TDI
Mk6 Wagon
The chances of a headgasket being covered under the extended warranty are slim. First off, Theres no CEL which is one thing thats needed. Second, they will make you run through hoops by checking/replacing other things before remotely even being close to removing the head.

KeyTDI

Veteran Member
TDI
2012 Sportwagon
Agreed.