Clutch issues on Golf MK6 TDI

GeraltVW

TDI
Golf MK6 1.6TDI 70kW
Hi all,

This is my first post here, I came across this forum upon searching some intel on my issue!
I'm not a mechanic, so pardon my non-technical explanations.

So I have a Golf MK6 1.6TDI and recently I lost total control over the clutch.
When I press the clutch pedal, it sticks to the back and I can only pull it back by force.
When the engine is on, I cannot change the gears with the gear stick despite putting considerable force.
When the engine is off, the gear stick can be moved easily.

In the engine compartment, I see a little puddle of clear oil under the slave cylinder. ( see here, I couldn't get the link clickable)
My neighbor, who's a car mechanic, came around and saw this puddle first, suggesting that the cylinder is broken.
We tried "pumping" with the clutch pedal but to no avail, it did not "build pressure".
There is no fluid coming out of the master cylinder I think, as the clutch pedal is completely dry.

Me and my dad towed the car to the garage for fixup, as my neighbor said it shouldn't be too expensive.
Now they made a quote to fix the issues:
-master cylinder + installation ~490 euro / 575 USD
-slave cylinder + installation ~300 euro / 350 USD

On top of that, they suggested to replace the whole gear box as it's an old car (10 years) and they said it is close to failing.
I have no idea how they found that out, as the car hasn't been moved from the place where I left it at their garage (so my guess is the mechanic went to check the car quickly, booted the engine and then decided it's dying or whatever).
They wanna charge 1750 euro / 2050 USD for that one....

On top of that I should slowly replace the timing belts, another 1000 euro / 1170 USD, as the car reached 225.000 km by now. (should have been done at 210.000 km but I was to busy (un)fortunately).