Battery & Alternator Troubleshooting

kennethsime

Veteran Member
TDI
2004 Jetta Wagon GL TDI 5-Speed Baltic Green
Hi all, hoping for some advice. In 80k miles and 3 years, this is my first time dealing with electrical issues. Bear with me, I've tried some searching and will search some more, but I don't know much about electrical so I figured I'd just offer a thorough explanation.

Today while on a 90-mile highway trip my battery light (generator light according to the owner's manual, which I'm pretty sure means alternator) came on. After reaching the destination I got the owner's manual out and checked for the light, which said the alternator or the belt may be malfunctioning. I checked the belt, it looked fine (no noticeable wear, felt tight, etc). I kept driving on it without issue for another hour or two before stopping to do my 20k mile service out at my parent's place.

After driving into town and stopping once more, the car failed to start. It didn't even turn over. Looked up the troubleshooting guide here on TDIClub, the starter solenoid clicked appropriately. Called autozone to get some advice, they agreed the battery was likely at fault and I should bring it in to be tested. Call a friend for a ride, start taking the battery out, and they suggest trying to jump the car and drive it to AutoZone instead. Sounds like a good idea, as soon as the Jetta is on cables it starts right up and drives fine.

At Autozone, they tested the battery, said it wouldn't hold a charge, and suggested a new one. Luckily I have my tools with me, get the new one installed, and the car starts up fine! However the battery light is still on. On top of this, on the 90-mile drive home, I felt like my headlights were fairly dim (although this could be my imagination).