Basic TDI Tool Kit

unitacx

Veteran Member
TDI
2002 golf
Choosing Tools

This is a bit presumptuous because it's difficult to guess what sort of work needs to be done, or event the type of D-I-Y work a random person would attempt. But when I got my car I asked the question, so I figured other may also.

Background:
There have been a number of posts addressed to the question I began searching for -- What tools do I need? Obviously there isn't really an answer here, but here's some reference material. (My background is listed at the bottom of this message.)

CHEAP TOOLS vs GOOD TOOLS

More on getting a good tool kit at a cheap price at the end of this post)

Obviously, we'd all like the Apprentice Set of tools from Snap-On, but want to pay for the ones in the "discount bin" at the local variety store. Here's my take on it.

Cheap tools are generally bad economy because they hinder you rather than help, either by being hard to use, by stripping fasteners, or by breaking. In one sense, the amateur needs better tools than the professional, because the tool goes a long way in helping the job along.
example:
To unwind the rear brake caliper you can get either:

A jigged unwind tool, such as Metalnerd's or part of a set (Not the 6-piece set; it must include VW!)

A "cube" brake unwinder, which uses a socket wrench extension.

A block of wood.

The "cube" is a lot cheaper than the Metalnerd tool, but will fight you. Stay away from the cube unless it's the only option available. (The block of wood is obviously even harder.)

The Metalnerd tool sort of guides you along. So for under $50 you can get the Metalnerd tool and still save on a brake job which of course pays for the tool on the first job. Plus neither the block or wood nor the cube will spread the front caliper, but the Metalnerd tool is also a conventional caliper spread tool.

Get the Metalnerd tool or the 11-piece universal set.