Any old-timers left? (I joined in 1999.)

TDI
2003 Jetta Wagon GLS 5-speed Manual
good afternoon.

I recently procured a 2003 Jetta Wagon 5-speed GLS that was meticulously maintained by the second owner, for the majority of it's 83K miles. I am used to driving and wrenching on Volkswagens, as I've been a licensed driver since 1989 and have owned several other Volkswagens (including a $35 1986 Scirocco that I drove for a couple summers, but that is another story). Currently I keep a 5-speed 1993 Cabriolet (102K) on the road whenever our abbreviated summer season allows. This TDI is my first car from the 21st Century though and I am mesmerized by the experience, needless to say I've purposely driven the long way home from work each night, hoping to catch a red light in order to prolong the fahrvergnügen. Being a Minnesota vehicle , the car has been subjected to road chemicals, subsequently there are manageable rust deposits, which I will eventually need to address either via replacement parts or some diy body work.

has anybody recommendations for sourcing used parts preferably locally in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area?

has anybody recommendations for a TDI guru, in the event I am unable to wrench on it myself?

has anybody an opinion on the quality of the AVH code engine?

thank you for any insight.

1854sailor

Resident Curmudgeon
TDI
2015 Golf SE SportWagen, 2015 Golf SE Hatch Back.
...has anybody recommendations for sourcing used parts preferably locally in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area?

www.car-part.com

has anybody recommendations for a TDI guru, in the event I am unable to wrench on it myself?

TDIClub member greengeeker is in Cambridge, north of Minneapolis

has anybody an opinion on the quality of the AVH code engine?

Your car has an ALH, not an AVH. It is one of the most desirable/reliable TDI engines out there...

MattRabbit

Veteran Member
TDI
2015 Golf SE TDI, 2014 Beetle TDI, 1981 Rabbit Diesel