Alloy Wheel Touch-Up Paint

timwagon

Veteran Member
TDI
2010 Jetta Sportwagen Stick
As far as I know, VW doesn't sell touch-up paint for their alloy wheels, but BMW Titanium Silver Metallic paint color (color code 354) is a very good match.

Wurth brand silver wheel paint is available in spray cans, but I wanted something simple to touch-up a small scratch on one of my rims.

I ordered the small bottle with the brush in the cap from www.automotivetouchup.com, and a bottle of clear coat. They also sell paint pens and spray cans.

The color match is excellent, and it only took a few minutes to clean the scratch, use the touch-up, and then give it a clear-coat.

AutomotiveTouchUp also sells a small pack of various wet/dry sandpaper grits for only $3, which is a real bargain. For around $20 you can get the paint, clearcoat, and the pack of sandpaper.

I'm no detailing expert, but I can recommend this for anyone looking for an easy fix for a small ding or scratch on their rims.

The BMW Titanium Silver color has been in use since at least model year 2000, so it doesn't matter which model year you enter on the website as long as you select Titanium Silver Metallic color code #354.

El Dobro

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2017 Bolt EV Premier, 2023 Bolt EUV Premier
I'll be ordering a bottle.

Cooper

Veteran Member
TDI
2011 JSW (traded in 5/2015)
Wurth makes a silver alloy wheel paint for German cars. Do a search for "Wurth wheel paint" and the like. They also sell the clearcoat for wheels.

You can also search and find a link to a DIY on a BMW forum of repairing curbed wheels with filler and paint.

JB05

Top Post Dawg
TDI
Golf,2005,anthracite blue
The 354 from autotouchup proved to be a very good match. I bought that as well as primer and clear coat in the two ounce jars with brush-on applicators. The outer edges of all four wheels were peeling.

dieseldorf

Top Post Dawg
TDI
ex- 1996 wagon, ex-2000 Jetta