Alignment (Camber) Question MK4 Jetta

MAXRPM

Veteran Member
TDI
00 Jetta and 99.5 Golf, 2015 Passat TDI,BMW 2
I hit a deep pot hole really hard while driving on our beautiful Bay Area road about a year ago, It damaged the front left side (Driver side) LCA, subframe plate, I changed both, I had a spare LCA I believe from 99.5 golf laying around and I ordered an after market subframe, changed them both, and ever since the accident I can't adjust the left camber to be within range (spec) , the right camber is dead on, so I'm having issues with the tire on the left front side wearing out, here is the question, (left camber is at -2.8) (right camber is at -0.8 within spec) im a novice on this and correct me if I'm wrong if I shift the subframe to the right to bring it within spec I would probably knock the right front out of range? Or can each wheel be adjusted individually?

Basically I'm trying to figure out what is the issue with my left side? the shock is bent? Kuckle? LCA from 99.5 is an odd size?, as we know some 99.5 bring different size in a lot of parts from the rest, any help would be appreciated

JB05

Top Post Dawg
TDI
Golf,2005,anthracite blue
Can you adjust the ball joint which fits into slotted holes in the LCA?

jmodge

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2001 alh Jetta, RC2 w/.205's 5speed daily summer commuter and 2000 alh Jetta 5spd swap, 2" lift, hitch, stage 3 TDtuning w/.216's winter cruiser, 1996 Tacoma ALh
I don't know if this will help you as it is a different situation, but when I lifted mine I had to file the slots in the LCA slightly to be able to slide my ball joints far enough to reach specs. Mine were slightly positive if I recall. You are out quite a ways though. Bent spindle/knuckle could do it. Maybe time to do larger brakes on the front, or maybe you already have

jmodge

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2001 alh Jetta, RC2 w/.205's 5speed daily summer commuter and 2000 alh Jetta 5spd swap, 2" lift, hitch, stage 3 TDtuning w/.216's winter cruiser, 1996 Tacoma ALh