ALH Stutter, CEL and Glowplug Light Flash P0216

Makerj101

TDI
2003 Jetta Wagon TDI ALH Silver 317,000mi
Hi all, I have a Jetta TDI wagon 2003 ALH with 317,000 miles. The engine is all original including injectors and injection pump and it runs beautifully, for the most part.

I have been battling a P0216 code for a couple of years now. I'll do some pocking around, open the lid on the injection pump, etc, and the code will stay away for a few thousand miles and then it'll randomly come back. Usually, it happens on the highway going around 55-65MPH and about half load. It'll shutter which to me means that it looses all power for about half a second then comes back. If I adjust the accelerator it will usually only shutter once and not throw the code. But if I maintain the accelerator position it will often shutter several times and then throw P0216 code.

I have a ScangGauge ii and notice that the ignition timing will go super high like 50 and jump around a lot. Usually, ignition timing varies between 0-15 or so. So I am guessing this problem has to do with the injection pump quantity adjuster, needle lift sensor or timing advance solenoid.

I have cleaned the filings from the infection pump quantity adjuster twice which made the code stay away for around 10k miles. I'm now getting the code almost every time I drive so I need to figure out what to do. New injectors? New pump? New timing advance solenoid? Maybe it's just time for nozzles? I'm going to test the resistance on injector #3 needle lift sensor and clean contacts when I get home.

How should I go about troubleshooting this? I am still getting great fuel economy. My lifetime average is 55MPGus so whatever this issue is it doesn't seem to be causing a huge ruckus. I have VCDS so I can check more details there.

Thank you in advance for all help and suggestions!
-Joachim

Gustav

TDI
2003 Jetta Wagon