'96 B4V 02a shifter bushings replacement.

Phi1osopher

Veteran Member
TDI
'96 B4V TDI Passat Wagon
Today I'm replacing the shifter bushings in my '96 B4V Passat. After an initial visual inspection, it appears that the cables and cable end-bushings are intact, but the bushings at the shifter have all failed.
Here is a .gif of the shifter slop -- this is all slop; the cable is not being engaged:

HERE is a short YOUTUBE video of the same thing where you can hear the clunking sounds...

To attend to this I bought the shift bushing kit from UroTuning. This is my first time to do business with them. Here's what arrived in the mail:

THIS THREAD over on the other VW forum was is very helpful...

And that's what I've got. Now it's time to take it apart and see if I can sort out which parts go where. I'll amost certainly come back and edit this post with more info.

Phi1osopher

Veteran Member
TDI
'96 B4V TDI Passat Wagon
Sweet! that really wasn't all that hard. Since most of my bushings were completely destroyed, one of the most difficult parts was simply identifying which part went where. I've posted here a few photos that will help the next guy knock this out maybe a bit faster and with less stress than me.
first side note is that I was able to do all this from inside the car without dropping the exhaust. I removed the center console trim pieces, and just went at it. Only #27 need something special to replace. this bushing was the only one intact for me, but I managed to replace it without dropping the exhaust and shifter box.
Another side note is while the shift bushing kit from UroTuning had all the parts that I needed, I was disappointed that they make no effort to tell you what you are buying (part numbers), nor where they go. It almost took me more time to sort out the bits than to install them...