2000 Golf TDI - Student budget build

konrad

TDI
2000 Golf TDI
Here is my daily driver a 2000 Golf TDI. It is a budget build and my hobby on the side while i'm studying to finish University. When I first got the car, it was completely stock and a little rough mechanically. It had a blown turbo, slipping clutch, rough interior, clogged cat, finished brakes etc. This car taught me the basics of mechanics. Enjoy!

Mechanical/Performance:

-VNT -17 Turbo
-Stage 1 + tuning (Unitronic)
-Stage 1 Clutch
-Audi TT Short Shifter
-KW V1 Coilovers
-Straight piped exhaust
-Brembo Blanks w/ Hawk Pads

Interior/ Exterior:
GTI Recaro's
R32 Steering Wheel
R32 Pedals
OEM Navigation System
GTI Golf Ball Shifter
GTI Lip kit
BBS RC 18" - Daily rims
BBS RC 17" - Autocross rims

So this is how the car first started out in 2008 when I bought it.

Here is the Golf with the autocross rims on (2011)

Here is the Golf before winter with the coilovers spun all the way up before I put on the steelies (2012)

The first thing I needed to do was change the turbo since the car was extremely slow and consuming too much fuel.

I drove it around for a while and eventually had to change my calipers and brakes since they were completely finished. As you can see some of them were seized. The whole system was done.

I drove it around for a few years (until 2011) and it was completely maintenence free.At that point things started to go wrong again. I was being a little cheap and in the end it cost me a lot of $$$$. It was winter time and I said I would get my timing belt done in the spring time. Well guess what happened...a week or two before my appointment, it snapped. I bent a few valves and had to replace the head :(.

Here are the bent valves

Here is me doing the last few check-ups with Vag-com after replacing the head + new timing belt

Last edited:

konrad

TDI
2000 Golf TDI