09A - No Forward Gears

arcking

TDI
2x '04 Jetta Wagons (BEW/09A), '13 JSW
I’m new to TDIClub and to VWs & TDIs, but looking forward to learning more. I picked up two project cars not too long ago – a 2004 Wagon with the 09ATiptronic (trans issues, ~160k) and a 2000 Jetta with the 5 speed (body damage). Originally, I’d planned (if possible) to swap the manual into the wagon but I hate to give up the ALH – if possible I’m going to try to get them both on the road.

I’m digging into the wagon now and trying to determine what the best course of action with the transmission issues. I’ve done a significant amount of reading on these issues online (09A Self Study, TDIClub, and others) and could use some insight with regard to troubleshooting and the decision as to whether to repair, replace with used, or swap a 5 speed. There don’t seem to be many cases online of 09As with no forward gears.

When I bought the wagon, the owner stated that it had been having trouble making it up hills without a running start and eventually lost all forward gears and had to be towed – it sat for some time after than until I picked it up. I’ve noticed that there is a very, very slight amount of ‘go’ in D, 2 and T1 but only on perfectly hard, flat, and level ground – and at that you might only get a mph or two at high RPM (essentially, no forward gears). Reverse on the other hand, works GREAT - no problems whatsoever. Fluid didn’t seem horrible, but certainly wasn’t new. Interestingly, once I was able to get it into T2 rolling down a hill and got about a second of solid engagement when I shifted back to T1.

I pulled the harness to the TCM at the transmission to put it in limp mode – the gear selection (PRND) went to a solid backlight as expected. With the harness unplugged, the car drives just fine in 4 and R. This would seem to imply that some of the components inside the transmission are in decent shape (K3, B1, B2, B3?) – thoughts?