02J rebuild saga

Brett San Diego

Veteran Member
TDI
02 Jetta wagon manual
I’m in the middle of my first of two back-to-back 02J rebuilds. This is my first time inside a manual transmission. I started a few weeks ago, and I thought I might document things from the beginning, but then I thought, nah, there’s enough out there already that it probably wouldn’t be helpful. Now, partway through, I’m finding there’s a number of things I wish I had known from the beginning from parts and tools that I would need to techniques for accomplishing specific tasks without special VW tools. So, I’m going to start a thread documenting most of my rebuild that, hopefully, will give folks a single place to find all or nearly all the information needed to rebuild an 02J. I won’t guarantee that this is comprehensive as there may be other issues other people may face with their transmissions that I didn’t. This is also not a step-by-step how-to. My intention is to provide some up-front information and fill in the blanks on certain parts of the rebuild showing methods that worked for me.

First, Resources. I have consulted a number of documents, web pages, and youtube videos.

B4 Passat Bentley manual. The most comprehensive documentation. 218 pages on the manual transmission alone. Note this is for the 02A transmission, which is very, very similar to the 02J internally. I bought a .pdf copy on eBay for $10. Worth it.

A rebuild document that I downloaded from the below link. Less detailed than the Bentley but a quicker read to get the gist of things.

Somewhere, I found a .pdf copy of the Alldatadiy.com section on the 02J, but if you have the above two, there is nothing new here.

A thread on this site about doing modifications to the case for 5th gear oiling. I did both: drilling some holes to allow the 5th gear compartment to drain and adding the 5th gear oil trough part that was installed at the factory in later transmissions.