02 Golf HE221W "Build" thread

BustedBolts

Veteran Member
TDI
2001 and 2002 Golf's
This is my first build thread although this is my 3rd Tdi that I modified a bit.
Little back story: I bought this car in 01/19. Previous owner had quite a few mods done to it. Engine was rebuilt with Rosten H beam rods and ARP head studs. It had a Malone Stage 4+ tune, 11mm IP, R520 nozzles, VNT17, PD150 intake manifold, and a Kerma upgraded SMIC and piping kit. It was 5 spd with a South Bend Clutch. Clutch as slipping so I lowered the fueling and boost so it wouldn't slip. Drove it for several months like that.
Several weeks ago i swapped the 02M trans into it from my 01 car. Installed a DKM Stage 2 clutch also. Drove it for a week to break in the clutch.
Then I installed A Holset HE221w turbo. I used an Ebay t3 manifold that i modified to a T25 flange. Custom made downpipe, intake and lower inter-cooler pipes. I made a spring-loaded waste-gate actuator. It is making around 35-38 psi of boost. Fueling is not quite maxed out yet.
Things to do in the near future: Tweak the tuning some more to get better turbo response. Install BEW lift pump. Possibly install a FMIC to help with IAT's, they hit 190f rather quickly at this boost level. Install aftermarket camshaft and valve springs to help top end power.
Goal is to max out R520 injectors, I would like to make 250WHP and still return close to 50MPG.

ketchupshirt88

Veteran Member
TDI
2005 Passat daily, a bunch of others in the graveyard out back...
I also am using a holset he221, although my success in homebrew tuning has been hit or miss. But I’ll be the first to admit that o barely know enough to get by and I don’t tinker with it much if it runs even half decent.

If you are tuning it yourself, I’d love to PM on what you modified and such. I cannot seem to get boost above about 26 but I’d like to run 32.