Search results

1. Highwaylizard

Long Crank

Top of the pump was dry with a layer of dust on it.
  2. Highwaylizard

Long Crank

I haven't had a chance to check the top of the tank/fuel pump yet as we have been slammed at the shop but when I went to start the car today it started with no problems. It sat outside on level ground since Monday with over night temperatures in the 20's and daytime temperatures in the 40's...
  3. Highwaylizard

Just me...or is there an unusually large number of "new members" in the past few weeks?

I don't post much first off because I'm a novice when it comes to TDI's and I spend most of my time here reading posts and trying to learn as much as I can. When I do post it's because I've encountered a problem I cannot figure out on my own. Sorry - I know that comes across as rather...
  4. Highwaylizard

Long Crank

Not yet as I was not sure of where to start. I will inspect the top of the lift tank and post back up. At work and its a bit cold here. I will see if I can get the car inside the shop here and take a look later this evening. Thank you for the guidance.
  5. Highwaylizard

Long Crank

Okay I have found that if I prime the system using my handheld scanner the car starts up every time without any problems. I am leaning toward a loss of fuel pressure when the car sits. The loss of pressure/long crank happens in a shorter period of time when the car sits facing uphill. A few...
  6. Highwaylizard

Long Crank

Checked all the nuts on the fuel lines and all were tight. Opened up the fuel filter canister and inspected. Found some flecks of material but they were not metallic. Took pictures but could not figure out how to post them in this post so here is a link to the album I created...
  7. IMG_0075.jpg

IMG_0075.jpg

Flecks in the bottom of the fuel filter housing. They are not metallic.
  8. IMG_0073.jpg

IMG_0073.jpg

Fuel Filter after about 17,000 miles
  9. IMG_0074.jpg

IMG_0074.jpg