Search results

1. S

bad radio reception

Antenna amplifier circuit board in the antenna base is most likely shot (corroded). Usually the easiest to get a new base. This happened on my Bug, didn't want to pay ~$300 for the satelite radio version so know I just have an AM/FM base.
  2. S

Correct Oil

The Valvoline oil is the Synpower line and the bottles are marked European Formula and also list the VW505.01 approval on the back label, it is also a 5W-40 weight unlike the delaers 5W-30 castrol. This is what I have been using for a couple of years now, ever since my dealer changed to the...
  3. S

Radio fault code, HU or antenna base

My AM no longer works on my car. I have taken the antenna base apart and there was corosion on the circuit boards inside the base. I cleaned the boards with contact cleaner and re-assembled everything but the AM still does not work, FM and satelite radio still work fine. I scanned the radio...
  4. S

Will OEM center console CD changer play...

If I purchase a new OEM center console CD changer and install it into an '05 system that has the Monsoon HU that will play MP3 discs will I be able to play MP3 discs with the CD changer also, or can only Audio CD's (CDA format, not MP3) be used in the changer? Also, the wiring for the changer...
  5. S

Engine Oil

I have been using the Valvoline Syn Power 5W40 MST oil. It is carried by the NAPA store in my area, by the quart or by the case (6 quarts). It has the VW 505.01 approval. You need to make sure you get the "MST" or "European" marked containers, check the back of the bottle to be sure. Valvoline...
  6. Valvoline Syn Power

Valvoline Syn Power

Valvoline Syn Power
  7. S

gauge cluster dont work when first started