Search results

1. Mike_04GolfTDI

Crankshaft Position Sensor Failure (CPS) - Please Report to NHTSA

You should have a look at the “Random Engine Hesitation” thread. Since I posted that, there has been a series of TDI owners reporting that they had the same issue. Since the problem doesn’t generate a fault code, dealers don’t know what to do about it, or how to even find the problem. It’s...
  2. Mike_04GolfTDI

Mk7 starts then dies immediately

When it won’t start, does the starter motor turn the engine, or does it not even turn? Can you describe the loud sound?
  3. Mike_04GolfTDI

Random Engine Hesitation

Post #80 has the part number and a link to where I got the sensor. I have no experience with any other brand of sensor. The new one is still working fine.
  4. Mike_04GolfTDI

Favorite engine cleaning method?

Permatex Fast Orange and a toothbrush.
  5. Mike_04GolfTDI

Favorite engine cleaning method?

Point a leaf blower in there for a minute.
  6. Mike_04GolfTDI

Random Engine Hesitation

^ I’m glad it worked out for you, except for losing $600.
  7. Mike_04GolfTDI

30A fuse for fans blowing after replacing fuse box and alternator cable

Does the same circuit with the blowing fuse also supply power to the A/C compressor clutch? I recently had to replace the PTO clutch on a tractor because it would blow as soon as it was engaged. It’s similar to an A/C compressor clutch, just bigger. Use an ohmmeter to check the resistance of...
  8. Mike_04GolfTDI

Possible Theft? 2015 GSW TDI

Any chance you have a dash cam that records when the car is running?
  9. Mike_04GolfTDI

Turbo Not Working, Car Ok To Drive?

One thing I would be concerned about is if the turbo is damaged, then it is possible that all the oil that normally lubricates the bearing will be just going out the exhaust pipe. You’d soon be low on oil. It depends what’s wrong though, It could be that nothing is mechanically wrong with the...
  10. Mike_04GolfTDI