Search results

1. S

What transmission fluid oil?

I've been running G060 in my 2001 alh tdi for about the last 6 years. Due for another change. Looks like G060 is superceded to G070. So what's the concensus? Go G070 or go synchromesh? No complaints about shifting presently, 245k miles.
  2. S

Rebuild will not start HELP!

1. Make sure cam lobes for #1 cyl are not opening the valves there at tdc. #1 being farthest cyl from flywheel. Lobes on #4 cyl should be partially on the cam followers. 2. Timing pin hole is at 12 oclock relative to pump body. If not at 12 oclock, you are not in pin hole. 3. After...
  3. S

2005 bhw marine stand alone

Lots of drive shaft shops have a lathe on site for just this sort of thing.
  4. S

Regarding Spare Fuel Containers

Red can sharpie marked "diesel" works for me. And why carry fuel, someone asked? There is one trip where the middle to 800m portion has expensive fuel, and are often closed at night when I like to travel. No fun driving around in Miami at night looking for diesel. Get to Fla City, easy to...
  5. S

2.2 GM Ecotec oil consumption.

20yrs ago I bought an old beater Rabbit diesel. Previous owner said it burned oil, and he used 20w-50 to reduce the burn rate. For giggles I tried 10w-30. It burned half the oil with 10w-30!! My theory was the worn oil rings were sliding up on top of a thick layer, and the layer was thinner...
  6. S

2.2 GM Ecotec oil consumption.

If car is on it's last legs, use oil drained from your other cars to top off.
  7. S

Call me stupid ~~ At least I am a newbie stupid.

The ac compressor is variable displacement. So when cooling loads are low, it draws very little hp from the engine.
  8. S

Timing Belt Inspection

Thanks. I'll not bother with the cover. And let her know 120k.
  9. S

Timing Belt Inspection

Thanks. I'll pass that on. I know the insp is not going to tell 100%, but if something is amiss, that would be good to pick up early. Is the plastic cover a PITA to pull off?
  10. S