Search results

1. icecap

2021 TDIFest Discusion Thread

I just dug through an unmanageable picture library and found some from the 2010 TDI Fest in Portland that I attended PDX 2010 that I was going to post but it doesn't look like the software will do downloads from my own device. The 2010 event was a lot of fun and I enjoyed attending and learned...
  2. icecap

BRM Clutch Recommendation?

I'm in the 3rd year and about 28K Km's since I had my clutch and flywheel assembly replaced with a Sachs SMF Quiet Clutch kit. I replaced the OEM DMF flywheel due to a bad idle speed engine vibration that wouldn't adjust out by changing the torsion setting. The OEM DMF had the dampener springs...
  3. icecap

Changing clutch/flywheel in 6-speed transmission (2009 Jetta Sportwagen)

Hi welcome to the forum, I'm a retired mechanic but couldn't repair my own 2 years ago since I had no place to work on it so had an independent import garage replace my clutch. I think you might need a few specialty wrenches for bolts with an accessibility issue and a decent set of tripple...
  4. icecap

What Cam & timing belt kit to buy?

Speaking from my own experience I would advise a kit containing a Colt Stage 2 camshaft. 2020 will be the 7th year and 70K miles since I replaced mine. I sourced most of the required parts from ID parts but sourced the camshaft from a different vendor since I wanted a colt camshaft as they are...
  5. icecap

BRM cam worn out after 30k miles?!?!?

FYI I purchased my 2006 TDI brand new with 16 miles on it. It was dealer serviced with their 505.01 Snake oil from day 1 and the car was serviced twice as often as VW recommended on the advice of my dealer. I also started doing used oil analysis in the cars 2nd year after finding out about the...
  6. icecap

BC Roll Call

Yet another from Chilliwack. 2006 Jetta TDI 230,000 Km's and going strong.
  7. icecap

Lighting Issue